Pumpkin Cake with Mascarpone Icing

Those of you on the other side of the world who are looking forward to Summer-Produce may not find this post interesting…

But for those who find themselves at the end of Autumn (like us in New Zealand), Today’s Post is for you (the rest of you will find this Post interesting in a few months).

After making this recipe twice already, I found myself at the supermarket AGAIN picking out the appropriate ingredients to make it for the third time in three weeks… translation… This is a Great Recipe and worth sharing.

Here’s what you’ll need at a glance….

Yep… that greyish looking thing is a PUMPKIN. I told them their pumpkins were strange down here in NZ, but no one believes me!
Although I must admit, they are absolutely delicious! Sweet as, bright orange flesh and full of great pumpkin flavor!

(This recipe is a spin off of The Pioneer Woman’s Pumpkin Muffins… check out her blog, it’s FANTASTIC!)

Pumpkin Cake

2 c. Flour (I use an all-purpose gluten free mix for my GF baby; no one ever knows the difference.)

1 c. Brown Sugar

4 tsp. Baking Powder

3 tsp. Cinnamon

1/2 tsp. Ground Ginger

1 tsp. Nutmeg

1 tsp. Salt

8 T. Butter (one stick)

2 c. (heaping!) Pumpkin Puree (you can use canned, or if you have fantastic pumpkins around like the one I showed you above, try making your own puree… it’s very easy… Check out The Pioneer Woman again for a Pumpkin Puree Tutorial.)

1 c. Half n Half (or 1/2 milk 1/2 cream like I used)

2 eggs

3 tsp. Vanilla

1 c. Raisins

Preheat your oven to 175C or 350F.  Begin by mixing all dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl (raisins count as “wet”).  Using a pastry cutter, cut the butter into the dry mix until it is distributed evenly and resembles course crumbs.  Next make a well in the center of your crumb mixture and dump all your wet ingredients into the well.  Start by stirring in a tight circle to combine the wet ingredients first, then widen your stir to incorporate the dry ingredients till all is moist and combined.  (See… you only needed one bowl… that’s good right!)

I lined three cake tins with baking paper then divided the batter evenly between them.

I just slapped a square of baking paper on each pan then poured the batter on top and let it sink into the pan rather than tracing and cutting perfect circles to fit the bottom of the pan, doesn’t drastically change the resulting cake, and saves A LOT of time.

Bake time?  Uh… I think around 20-30 minutes… My fantastic-but-not-so-perfect camping oven doesn’t cook quite like your oven will… so you may have to let me know what you came up with on time.  For me, it was around 20-30 minutes, and I rotated them in the oven so they baked more evenly… then waited till I could just smell the yumminess wafting from the oven and a toothpick inserted came out clean.  Once baked, remove your cakes and let them cool while you make the Icing…

Mascarpone Icing

1/2 c. softened Butter

200 g. (7 oz.) room-temp Mascarpone Cheese (If you’re not familiar, this is Italian-style cream cheese… milder than regular cream cheese, and DIVINE in this icing!)

450 g. (1 lb.) Icing Sugar (also known as Confectioners Sugar or Powdered Sugar)

1 tsp. Vanilla (I’ve also used vanilla bean paste, which can usually be found in most  Groceries next to the regular vanilla.  It is more potent than the extract so you don’t have to use as much… and… it is absolutely Lovely in looks and flavor!  Give it a try!)

Icing is pretty easy… Just whip all the Icing ingredients together till smooth and fluffy… either by hand or with a mixer using the whisk attachment.  Wait to frost your cakes till they have cooled completely–or your icing will melt and your cakes will slide.  If you’re really impatient, throw the cakes in the freezer for a bit to speed up the process.
One of the things I let go of in our move was my Beloved KitchenAid 😦 … (I hope it likes its new home!)… The goodness of being without a mixer is that I’ve got a mighty strong stirring arm, and the knowledge that “I can do it!” … Still, ‘I dream of KitchenAid’ (sniff sniff).
Anyhow, in my case, I actually melted my butter to make the mixing easier, then I let it chill and thicken a bit in the fridge.  Do whatchya gotta do!

Oh!!! Please try this!
It is incredibly moist and delicious, and although the icing is sweet, the cake is surprisingly not… they partner really well.

MMMmmmm!!! My Peas LOVED it!
(Hi Anna!)

One thought on “Pumpkin Cake with Mascarpone Icing

  1. That looks great. I will try it in the fall. I’ll bet zucchini would do well that way too. Yummmm
    Love, Meema

Leave a Reply

