Better than Banana Bread

I have to tell you I’ve eaten more than my share of banana bread in my day…

…to the point of not caring if I never ate another piece of banana bread ever again in my life.

But, when a pile of over-ripe bananas sits on the counter coupled with seven hungry Peas to feed, what else could I do but dig up yet another recipe for ripe bananas (aka banana bread)…

And you know what… I’m glad I did!

The following recipe is likely to convert you too!

Once again, I must give credit to The Pioneer Woman who provided the main-frame for this recipe (here’s her version–it’s Yum!!).  I’ve typed it below as well… my version has evolved slightly after making it several times and I think you’ll like the additions.

Here’s what you’ll need at a glance…

Better than Banana Bread

Dry Ingredients:

3/4 c. sugar

3/4 c. brown sugar

4 c. flour (I use an all purpose Gluten Free baking mix for my GF baby, no one ever knows the difference)

1 tsp. baking soda

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. salt

Wet Ingredients:

1 1/2 c. mashed banana

1 1/2 c. sour cream

2 sticks butter (melted and slightly cooled)

4 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla (this last go around all I had on hand was vanilla bean paste, which is tremendously delicious and easily interchangeable with the extract, only slightly more intense in flavor so less is needed for the same effect)

Preheat oven to 350F or 175C.  Use two bowls for this recipe; one large and one medium.  In one bowl combine all the dry ingredients and in the other combine the wet.

Mix the two together in the larger bowl until just combined.

From here you’ll have to decide what you want to bake your batter in… muffin tins, bread pans, a bundt cake pan etc… there’s no wrong way… only adjust your baking time accordingly.

To give you an idea, the bundt takes about 1 hour, and the muffins take about 20 minutes.

Whatever version you decide to create will be delicious!

Maybe make some extra for someone down the street…

Or maybe not… it’ll probably be gone before you can get it there… ah well, it’s the thought that counts…

And if you’re really lucky, you too might have a tiny Pea crawling over your table to snitch the bit you saved for you.

(“Of course I’ll share with you, you gorgeous girl!” :))

In case you’re wondering, that is BUTTER on my plate.  The muffins are perfectly delicious without it, but OH… try a few bites with a decent slab of butter, and you won’t be sorry.

4 thoughts on “Better than Banana Bread

  1. Nalia looks like a great helper. Sorry for feeding you so much banana bread in your life time. I have alot of frozen bananas in the freezer waiting for a cold day to become bread. I will try the sour cream sometime soon. Another of my favorite treats. Love, Meema/MOM

    • He he! We DID eat a lot of banana bread… but I loved it then… I just think I had my fill… carry on baking it Mom… and yes, try this recipe… I think you’ll like it.

  2. yum. i’m so excited i can stalk you now on my nights at work. unfortunately, this means, less work will get done 🙂 have you made sweet potato bread? could probably do same recipe just substitute the bananas for mashed sweet potatoes and add some cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves combo.

    • That sounds AMAZING! I will have to try it… great suggestion Liana :). Glad to have you as a stalker too 🙂 Hopefully we can help make your nights go faster.

Leave a Reply

