Asian Chicken Salad

I just received my first recipe request!

A couple weeks ago we had the pleasure of dining with Becca and Suzie Goodwin. (A couple of the originals of “Goodwin Cottage“.  They currently reside in Dunedin New Zealand where they attend University, but they took the time to travel up for a weekend to spend time with their brothers and with us… Thanks Girls!).

Dusty and I prepared Asian Chicken Salad for dinner, and apparently it was a hit because the girls recently emailed me a request for the recipe.

I’m glad they did!

I had intended to do a post on this a while back (while still at The Shed… thus the outdated photos), but hadn’t gotten to it yet.

Thanks for asking girls!  Here it is…

Asian Chicken Salad

IMG_7354

(p.s. Sadly I do not have photos of our dinner with Becca and Suzie!  Will have to seize the opportunity to snap some of these pretty girls next time they come to town.)

When I make this salad I usually base it off a recipe like this one by Giada .  As I’ve confessed earlier I’m not very good at keeping perfect tabs on measurements so for this one I’m just going to give  a rough overview of what might typically go into an Asian Chicken Salad at our house… give or take depending on what’s in the cupboard and on what flavors we are or are-not craving.

Asian Chicken Salad Filling

-Chinese Napa Cabbage, shredded (*Napa cabbage is lighter and easier to eat as a salad leaf than regular cabbage, but plain old green or purple cabbage would be nice too perhaps combined with some regular lettuce to lighten the dish… Don’t be fussy, just use what you have on hand.)

-Lettuce, shredded (*Again, use what you have here.  Something of a Romaine variety is nice, and I reckon a blend of other varieties of heartier lettuce leaves would be lovely as well!)

-Bell Peppers, sliced thinly (*The more colors the better… but again, use what you have on hand… or exclude them altogether.)

-Carrots, grated

-Chicken, cooked and shredded or cut into thin strips (* In the photo you can see we used chicken strips; we purchased these freshly fried from our local Fish n’ Chips shop.  In the States I would sometimes pick up a batch of ‘Chicken Selects’ from McDonalds; and during the weekend with the girls we used whole chickens that I had roasted in the oven earlier that day… the girls can attest to that as they were my chicken-shredders.)

-Slivered Almonds, toasted

-Mandarin Oranges (* I usually buy the canned version and drain the juice, which the kids gladly drink.  You could also peel and separate fresh ones and that would also be nice.  I veer toward the canned variety because they are so very tender and melt-in-your-mouth, the fresh ones can occasionally be more of a chore than I like if their membranes are tough.)

-Sugar Snap Peas or Snow Peas, if you happen to have some of these fresh from the garden, by all means throw them in!  They would be delish in here!

Asian Chicken Salad Dressing

(These are the approximate measurements for a salad dressing that serves 4 to 6, so obviously for a large group you will need to adjust accordingly.  ALSO!!!  The following ingredients with a * are not necessary and can be added or excluded according to what is in your cupboard or what your tastebuds are craving.)

1/4 c. Oil (We generally use a Light Olive Oil or Extra Virgin Olive Oil)

2 Tbs.  Rice Vinegar

2 Tbs.  Soy Sauce

1 Tbs. Brown Sugar

*1 tsp.  Sesame Oil

*Ginger, freshly grated to taste

*Garlic, crushed and added to taste as well

*Thai Basil (or regular basil), finely chopped

*Red Chili, seeded and finely chopped

Combine all ingredients in a glass jar, screw on lid, and SHAKE.  Pour over salad and toss.  Alternatively, combine all ingredients in a large serving bowl and whisk together well.  Add salad ingredients on top and toss.

Serve immediately.

(**Lots of notes attached to this recipe!  Last one I promise! ** I have found that because of the heartier leaves I use in this salad, leftovers often preserve well for the following day; any longer than that and it gets wilty like any other salad.)

I will leave you now with a couple shots of some of my younger Peas devouring this yummy salad… therefore classifying this salad as “kid-friendly” in our home.

IMG_7355IMG_7359

One thought on “Asian Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

