Sugar Cookies Revisited

Confession…

So last Friday baby-Boy told me he was hungry for cookies.

“Sorry baby-Boy, this pregnant Mama doesn’t feel like baking.”

“WHAT!?  BigSis not bake!?” you exclaim.

I know!  I don’t know what’s come over me!

No baking… But still craving cookies!  (I mean baby-Boy was craving cookies.)

What was I to do with such a dilemma…

…but utilize the Powers at my disposal as a Homeschool Mom to “assign” my Peas the task of making me (I mean) baby-Boy some cookies.  All in the name of practicing their Reading, Planning, Prepping, Direction-Following, Clean-up and Follow-through skills–of course.

Ya aren’t buyin’ it are ya.

O Kay… I confess…

(Sniffle.)

I took advantage of my station as ‘Mom’ and ‘Teacher’ to coerce my children into baking baby-Boy …okay… ME!… some cookies.

(Sigh.)

There.  I said it.

(Sigh.)

And the cookies were DELICIOUS  …

(Double Sigh.)

 baby-Boy thought so too …

and therefore I cannot promise I won’t do it again!

(Resignation.)

But, in my defense….

DON’T THEY LOOK HAPPY?!

IMG_6665

And don’t you wish YOU could have done that for school when you were 10 and 12?!

I put my own case to rest.

Now when Lloyd and Kaleb were given this “assignment” it took them all of two seconds to decide what they wanted to make… Frosted Sugar Cookie Cutouts.  I think first of all because they’re SO GOOD, second because it’s Winter here in New Zealand and Frosted Sugar Cookie Cutouts are ‘tradition’ in our house during the Winter months (usually Christmas time… but hey!) and third because they’re fun to make and utilize brightly colored, highly sugared icing for decoration.  What’s not to like about that!?

I admit, I have posted this recipe previously right here.

But I gotta tell ya…

It’s THE BEST!

In the past I would flit around trying different recipes, never completely settling on any one.  But this one has persisted through TWO holiday seasons as our favorite Sugar Cookie recipe.

So I’m posting it again.

I find it so very versatile… Use it for cut-out cookies, as a base for fruit pizza, for shortbread-style-tea-biscuits.  Serve them frosted… roll them in sugar… or eat them plain.  Over-bake them so they’re brown and they’ll shatter deliciously in your mouth releasing the spectacular warmth of browned-butter.  Or bake them till just done and they’ll come out perfectly chewy and “melt in your mouth”…

No matter which way I’ve used this recipe the outcome is — DELICIOUS!

IMG_7786

The version you see here (photographed last year for a tea party) was rolled into balls in the dough stage followed by a coating of granulated sugar before popping them into the oven where we baked them to the ‘chewy’ stage… these perfect little symmetrical rounds resulted… which we iced and sandwiched together using a simple butter cream frosting laced with lemon zest.

Cum’mon!!!!  Who wouldn’t want to taste one (or more) of these pretty things!!!

PLUS… Peas of all ages can easily join in the fun…

Here it is again….

Our Favorite Sugar Cookie Recipe

2 1/4 c. Flour (we use an all-purpose gluten-free flour… I usually mix my own using 60% starch and 40% gf flour)

1/4 tsp. Salt

2 sticks Butter, room temp (equivalent to 1 cup or 250 grams)

1 c. Sugar

2 lg. Egg Yolks

1 tsp. Vanilla

1 tsp. Lemon Zest

Mix together flour and salt in a separate bowl.  Beat softened butter and sugar till fluffy and smooth.  Add yolks to butter/sugar mix and beat again, followed by lemon zest and vanilla.  Slowly add the flour/salt a little at a time until all is incorporated.  Chill your dough (if you want to make cutouts and have the time and patience).

Preheat oven to 350F (175C).

Prepare the dough:  roll out and use cookie cutters, roll into balls, or just plop in little blobs on a cookie sheet.  (Depends on your purpose and your mood).

Bake about 7ish minutes… more if you want them darker.

*The combination of vanilla AND lemon zest in this cookie is nothing less than ETHEREAL.  There is honestly something magical about the lemon/vanilla combo… however, I have lately been thinking I would try substituting 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg for the Lemon Zest to create a warmer flavor for the winter months… Mmmm…. I’ll let you know how that one turns out.)

In the mean time, at least for the moment, Mama and baby-Boy are Cookie Content.

Thank you for your kind concern.

7 thoughts on “Sugar Cookies Revisited

  1. Those look delicious and I will need a fresh batch next time I see you, with a cup of tea. YMMMM Love, Meema

    • Thanks for noticing and commenting Cody – I LOVE that you love details 🙂 WordPress has a really nice selection of free templates to choose from which made it easy. I just picked the one that seemed to fit our mood/needs the best 😉

Leave a Reply

