Saltine Toffee

I gotta tell ya… this recipe is… WOWZA!

(but first a pre-cursor)

As we journey toward greater health and venture deeper into traditional-eating territory, I may, down the road, feel bad about posting recipes like these…

Not because it contains an entire block of butter

NO

that is the GOOD part.  Sincerely!  Butter is actually a whole lot better for us than we are told.

In this recipe its the sugar and especially the saltines that throw this recipe OUT of the healthy-traditional-eating ballpark.

But today, I’m not bothered by that, because I’m telling you… this recipe is WICKED DELICIOUS…. bold capitals all the way… AND… super-easy to make!

I mean, here I am three weeks on the other side of birthing my ninth baby and full-on into mothering the other eight, including homeschooling two big kids, plus the regular stuff… laundry, dishes, blah blah blah.  I’m definitely not back into creative baking/cooking mode.

But I ran across this recipe on Pinterest  and thought “I’ll bet I can make this one happen!” … you know… in between feedings #3 and #4 for Lukas, after packing 4 school lunches and one Daddy-sized-lunch, serving three rounds of breakfast, taking kids to school, attempting to tidy-up after the morning tornado… in between morning and afternoon lessons for the boys, while waiting for the current load of clothes to finish washing,  and slightly before it is time to prepare lunch for the home crew… You know, the gap that fits in that space.

Seemed reasonable.

So I tried it.

And it worked.

OH did it work!!!

IMG_7816I happily give full credit for this recipe to Grace of asoutherngrace.blogspot.com, her original recipe is HERE along with her superior photographs of this decadent treat.  Please do check it out!  I used Grace’s recipe almost to a ‘T’, but doubled it to accommodate our larger than average family and adjusted slightly according to ingredients I had on hand (i.e. a little less chocolate and a different kind).  Here’s the recipe and how we made it:

Saltine Toffee

2 cups Butter
2 cups Brown Sugar
1 lg. bar Whitakers Dark Chocolate (or equivalent preferred chocolate)
70-80 saltine crackers (enough to cover the bottoms of the pans you choose to use… how many pans you use depends on the size of the pans… I used three 8×11 pans… for these I used 72 crackers)

Preheat oven to 175°C or 350ºF. Line your pans with non-stick baking paper.  Spread a single layer of crackers on the baking paper.  Melt the Brown Sugar and Butter in a heavy saucepan and cook until a boil is reached.  Reduce the heat and simmer for 5-6 minutes or until mixture is thickened and sugar is completely dissolved.  Pour this mixture over the crackers and spread to coat evenly.  Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the toffee becomes bubbly.  After removing the pan from the oven, let it sit for 3-5 minutes.  In the mean time using the same pan that the toffee mixture cooked in, melt your chocolate over low heat (or use a double boiler… melting chocolate can be finicky when heat is direct).  Spread melted chocolate over top of settled toffee.  Place pans in the fridge for faster cooling.

Just in case you’re extra curious here is the step-by-step…

(Just click a photo below to enter the gallery and read descriptions for each photo.)

Now PLEASE DO have a taste!!  (I bet you'll eat more than one!)

Now PLEASE DO have a taste!!
(I bet you’ll eat more than one!)

 

8 thoughts on “Saltine Toffee

  1. Jamaican me crazzzzy! My dream= to be there in the midst of that day, adding my 3 kids to the fun, and then eating the treats with big sis while a couple munchkins snooze 😉

  2. Tica- I make this every year at Christmas! It is a favorite in our family! I’m sorry I neglected to give you this delightfully naughty, but “so worth it” recipe. Enjoy to the fullest! Love you

  3. I am so glad I married into a family that has taught me how to FULLY appreciate the joy of sweet treats and make them a part of daily life:) THANK YOU! It just makes life so much more fun:) Oh and ps…thanks for always offering coffee with those sweets too!

Leave a Reply

