Fussy Oatmeal

So it’s taken me much longer to write to you about oatmeal than I though it would!  Funny how life does that.  Our wee Nalia decided to have herself an adventure by trying out the world of seizures.  Yeah, I know, a silly thing to do when you are 4, or any age for that matter, but in this case it seems her mind has a mind of its own.  We are thrown for a loop and doing what we can to get to the root of it.  Fear has been banished so that we can navigate with clarity.  The name of the game is keep-it-calm-at-all-cost.  Which for us means clearing the plate of anything excess to necessity.  Thus making easy and economical meals such as OATMEAL all the more appealing.

So then…

Let’s talk Oatmeal!

Some of our Pod hasn’t always done well eating oatmeal.  We would eat a nice hot bowl of porridge for breakie and immediately wish we could crawl back in bed.  Turns out high-carb, low-fat, low-protien, hard to digest grains were overtaxing our pancreas’ and overworking our digestive systems causing the body to pull energy from other places in an attempt to correct the imbalance.  At least that’s a primitive way to describe what people like Sally Fallon and Weston A. Price have researched and written about.  But rather than write all grains totally off (which is a subject of its own and certainly has a bit of appeal to me), they suggest that soaking grains before consumption (as traditional peoples used to do) renders the bad-stuff neutral and unpacks the good that was held captive within.  Specifically the ‘bad-guy’ in this case is phytic acid.  Some of you are much more learned in this than I, so I won’t even try to act the expert. And for those of you want more information, there are lots of brilliant websites that explain this much more thoroughly than I am able.

 The purpose of this post is two-fold… 1- To ask if any of you have done or are doing the same (soaking your grains), why, and what your results have been.  Plus any other links and tidbits you might have to share with us. 2- To suggest to those that have not tried soaking grains that you try it and tell me what you think.  I swear by it in our house and would rather skip breakfast altogether if served ‘regular’ un-soaked oatmeal.

Like most traditional eating there are some extra steps and pre-thought that goes into it, which is why it took me so long to finally give it a try.  But too many tired tiiiiiiirrrrred mornings finally nudged me into giving it a go.


WHAT TO DO:

Put the following ingredients into a cooking pot the night before you want to eat oatmeal:

1 part Oats

1 part Water

1 tablespoon Acid-of-Choice per cup of oats

(you can use acids such as lemon juice, apple cider vinegar, whey, unsweetened yoghurt, etc.)

 The next day:

Add 1 more part water to the pot.  Add a pinch of salt per cup of oats.  Cook the oats on medium heat until your porridge is the consistency you like.

Here’s the picture version:


Easy enough right!

Until you see my add-ins.  This is where our oatmeal gets “fussy”.

Me need me some flavor and some fat pulease!  Why add FAT you ask?

Because of SUGAR.

And not just the sweetener you add to the porridge.  You see grains and other carbs all on their own are basically recognized as sugar in the body and stimulate the pancreas to release insulin to balance the high-influx to the system.  For some of us with ultra-sensitive systems the smallest amount of sugar gives us a spike in blood sugar followed by an over-reaction of the pancreas to lower it, and we feel like taking a nap every time we eat; UNLESS the sugar is balanced with protein and/or fat.  Contrary to previous conditioning I propose a new mantra… Fat is our FRIEND.  Fat Friend Fat Friend Fat Friend… GOOD fats that is. DO NOT let me be mistaken in telling your with forceful boldness that margarine and other highly processed fats are BAD FOR YOU… DO NOT EAT THEM!  But fats like butter, extra-virgin olive oil, coconut oil, cod liver oil, and the like are a fountain of youth.  And not in small, top-of-the-food-pyramid proportions.  Lather it on thick baby!!  Again I leave you and google to hash that one out.  However I will link you to FitBomb and his Q&A on the paleo diet, which again, I find interesting (the “paleo” way of eating) and largely resonate with, but at this point in my journey I still enjoy pulling together a time-consuming but oh-so-worth-it homemade flaky pastry far too much to fully jump on the paleo wagon.  Still, Fit Bomb’s dialogue on carbs, fats and proteins is FANTASTIC as well as entertaining.  (To skip to the part where he talks about fat scroll about 1/3 of the way down the article.)

ANYWHO….

Here’s the ‘fussy’ part of our oatmeal…


Okay crew.  That’s all I’ve got for now.  Share with me what you know… I’d love to hear.

4 thoughts on “Fussy Oatmeal

  1. Super excited to try this!! Love you Tica and family!!! Thanks for the Food advice. 😉 I like you have never soaked Anything because it’s an extra step that I just haven’t ventured out to do. I think I’ll try it for tomorrow. 🙂 Jamie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Yay 🙂 Tell me what you think. In the beginning I used cider vinegar a lot as that is what we had on hand, and I admit it took a couple of the kids a little while to get used to it. Now that I have access to fresh raw cows milk I usually have whey (the liquid left over from making cheese) or homemade yoghurt available and those are really nice. And of course the lemon as I posted here is (I think) delish and I use those when lemons are in season… which they happen to be right now 🙂 In fact I have two pretty little lemons on my tiny lemon tree outside… although I can’t bring myself to pick them yet because they look so nice on the tree. I think I’ll have to make something a little more special than oatmeal with those two beauties.

  2. WOw that’s an impressive post-photos and all! Our vegan/gluten free friend LOVES steel cut oatmeal that you throw in a casserole dish with some almond milk, chopped apples cinnamon, nuts and berries then throw the casserole dish in the crock pot the night before with about an inch or more of water on the bottom. Put the cover on, cook over night on low and Voila! you wake up to a house that smells yummy and a hot and ready delicious breakfast.

  3. Hey Teek, great post! Like you, I’m just continuing on my journey of learning how nutrition affects our bodies. In my journey, I consider myself about 100 yards in to an EPIC lifelong adventure. I know you’ve seen A Bugs Life, and I consider myself like Flik when he is just leaving the colony. As a conventional medicine practitioner, I enter this world of nutritional, alternative, functional medicine…whatever you want to call it, and I feel like him when he soars of the cliff, FREE, going for it, and maybe I’ll splat into a rock or two on the way, but it sure is a RUSH! If it gets us closer to treating our life suits how God intended, all the better!

    That said, I’ve recently learned more about acid-base balance and why things like apple cider vinegar are good for people with heartburn/GERD. There’s a free e-book at chriskresser.com on heartburn/GERD which goes into why putting a little more acid in our gut actually treats GERD – THE MOST COMMON GI DISORDER IN THE US.

    So keep up the good work Tica – Your research and intuition (aka Holy Spirit within you) is leading to something big that the western world of conventional medicine is yet to discover. You are truly a Pioneer Woman of New Zealand!

    Love ya Sis!

Leave a Reply

